Iranian nominees for IBBY reading promotion awards unveiled



TEHRAN – The Children’s Book Council of Iran has announced the country’s nominations for the IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award and the IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award.

Children’s literature expert Zohreh Qaini was nominated for the award in 2021 and Iran-based Afghan book-reading promoter Nader Musavi received the nomination for 2022.

Qaini, 67, is a children’s literature translator, speaker, researcher and historian. She is co-author of the 10-volume research book “The History of Children’s Literature in Iran”.

She is the director of the Read with Me project. She was also a member of the IBBY executive committee from 2016 to 2020.

As a foreign member of the Iranian Association of Children and Youth Writers, Musavi is looking for reading programs in Afghanistan.

The Children’s Book Council of Iran has previously nominated Musavi for the 2021 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Prize, a prestigious Swedish honor aimed at promoting children’s and adolescent literature around the world.

Additionally, the Children Cultural Development Center was nominated for the IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award in 2022.

The IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award was established by the Shenzhen iRead Foundation and IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People) to encourage genuine commitment to the promotion of reading in the hope of spreading this dedication to others around the world. .

The IBBY-iRead Prize jury selects two winners each year. The two winners each receive 200,000 RMB yuan, and in addition, 150,000 RMB yuan is donated to a non-profit children’s reading promotion project of their choice.

Swedish-Dutch author Marit Törnqvist and Chinese educator Zhu Yongxin won the 2020 IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award.

The IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Prize is awarded every two years to a group or institution whose outstanding activities are deemed to make a lasting contribution to reading promotion programs for children and youth. The award was established in 1986 and is sponsored by the Asahi Shimbun newspaper.

The prize of $ 10,000 and a diploma are presented to the winning project at the IBBY biennial convention.

The winner of the IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award 2020 is Casa Cuna Cuenteros from Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Photo: This combined photo shows a logo for the IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award and Iranian nominees Zohreh Qaini and Nader Musavi.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.