Dodson Headlines List of AIA Award Winners in ACT

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced Melinda Dodson as the 2022 ACT President’s Medal recipient.

The Principal of Melinda Dodson Architects is a Past National President of the Institute and holds Life Fellow status. Dodson has demonstrated a strong commitment to sustainable cities through architectural practice, research, industry leadership and public advocacy for over 25 years.

“Melinda embodies what it is to be a professional who acts in the public interest to improve community outcomes with a passion for providing inclusive sustainable built environments,” said Jane Cassidy, President of the ‘AIA ACT.

“She strongly believes that architecture holds the key to solving many of our cities’ frustrations. His research informs the development of strategies to improve housing choice and affordability and reduce carbon emissions from housing, relative to ACT 2045 net zero goals.”

Dodson is also the founder of the Canberra Low Carbon Housing Challenge, which showcases sustainable building and construction in the region. The challenge was named the recipient of the Clem Cummings Medal, which recognizes the contributions of non-architects and architects to architecture in the public interest. The CLCHC team is made up of Dodson, Rob Henry of Rob Henry Architects and David Clarke of Tallowwood Architecture.

“The Canberra Low Carbon Housing Challenge team is to be commended for raising public awareness through the competition and the digital and face-to-face public displays,” Cassidy said.

“The team has achieved excellent results in its short life and has already developed an ambitious program of research projects, peer education and exhibitions to extend its reach from individual housing to developments at more large scale.”

GHD’s Russell Pfitz has been named the winner of the ACT Architecture Professional Practitioner Award for 2022, based on his impact on the profession over three decades and his expertise in technical architecture. Pfitz has worked on complex industrial and institutional architectures, including water and energy, defense and security, and has developed significant heritage and technical expertise.

“His technically-focused heritage work ensures that our important architecture will endure for future generations,” read a statement from the award jury.

The future of architecture in the ACT has been recognized with Kate Shepherd of Rob Henry Architects winning the 2022 Emerging Architect Award. In a short time, Shepherd has shown incredible longevity, breadth and commitment to the industry through his volunteer work and industry leadership.

“Using knowledge gained through practice, Kate has applied considerable design skill and fine technical detail to commercial and residential scale. Kate Shepherd exemplifies what it means to be an architect in society,” says the jury.

The Student Achievement Awards at the University of Canberra went to Amanda Marshall for the highest five-year grade point average at the University of Canberra, earning her the ACT Chapter Student Medallion. Roger Clarke won the John Redmond Award for the highest achievement in the first three years of the Bachelor of Built Environment (Architecture).

University of Canberra student Juliana Zubovic has won the Daryl Jackson Alastair Swayn Graduate Award for the highest grade point average during the two-year Master of Architecture course.

Picture: provided

Comments are closed.